About Us

About Us

AFPA is a non-profit organization representing all segments of the $15 billion food and beverage industry including growers, processors, retailers, foodservice buyers and suppliers since 1974.

Our Mission

Our mission is to build the competitive advantage of our members through quality training, effective promotion and by being the representative voice of members and the Alberta food processing industry.

The AFPA Team - 403.201.3657

  • Melody Pashko, General Manager / Food Safety & Quality  - Ext. 21 - melody@afpa.com
  • Ed DeGroot, CRSP, CHSC, Workplace Health &Safety - Ext. 28 - ed@afpa.com
  • Terri Morros, Controller -  Ext. 30 - terri@afpa.com


2019-2020 AFPA Board of Directors

Greg Mohr

Beemaid Honey

Louis Bontorin

Calgary Italian Bakery

Dean Gelowitz

Griffith Foods

Brian Espiritu

Foothills Creamery

Jerry Bigam

Kinnikinnick Foods Inc.

Eric Haak - AFPA Chair

Sunrise Bakery Ltd.

Krystal Huebl


Dietrich Kuhlmann

Kuhlmanns Market Gardens & Greenhouses Ltd.

Fauzia Kanji

Thumbs Up Foods

Kerri McGrath

Bigfoot Industrial Services Ltd.

Judy Goodzeck

Judy G Foods

Michael Poynton


Scott Exner

MLT Aikins LLP

Stan Ballard Apprenticeship Fund

The Stan Ballard Apprenticeship Fund was established in 1986 to support educational activities for Alberta apprentice chefs. Each year SAIT, NAIT and Lethbridge College award scholarships to 2nd year students enrolled in the Culinary Arts program. The award is not only on based on academics b ut awarded to students who demonstrate a high degree of competence in the practical components.

The scholarship fund was created to recognize the achievements of Stan Ballard, who retired from Burns Foods in 1986, following forty-one years of service with Burns and with the food processing industry. Stan was one of the founders of the Alberta Food Processors Association; Stan has done much during his career to promote the Alberta food industry, particularly in the foodservice sector.